

MINUTES OF THE STRATEGIC PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEETING HELD AT WAVERLEY COUNCIL CHAMBERS, CNR PAUL STREET AND BONDI ROAD, BONDI JUNCTION ON TUESDAY, 4 JULY 2023

Present:

Councillor Steven Lewis (Chair) **Hunter Ward** Councillor Paula Masselos (Mayor) Lawson Ward Councillor Elaine Keenan (Deputy Mayor) Lawson Ward **Councillor Sally Betts Hunter Ward** Councillor Angela Burrill Lawson Ward Councillor Ludovico Fabiano Waverley Ward Councillor Leon Goltsman Bondi Ward Councillor Michelle Gray Bondi Ward **Councillor Tony Kay** Waverley Ward Councillor Tim Murray Waverley Ward Councillor Will Nemesh **Hunter Ward** Councillor Dominic Wy Kanak Bondi Ward

Staff in attendance:

Emily Scott General Manager

Sharon Cassidy Director, Assets and Operations
Tara Czinner Director, Corporate Services

Fletcher Rayner Director, Planning, Sustainability and Compliance
Ben Thompson Director, Community, Culture and Customer Experience

At the commencement of proceedings at 8.26 pm, those present were as listed above.

Crs Burrill, Goltsman, Keenan and Nemesh attended the meeting by audio-visual link.

PRAYER AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INDIGENOUS HERITAGE

The General Manager read the following Opening Prayer and Acknowledgement of Indigenous Heritage:

God, we pray for wisdom to govern with justice and equity. That we may see clearly and speak the truth and that we work together in harmony and mutual respect. May our actions demonstrate courage and leadership so that in all our works thy will be done. Amen.

Waverley Council respectfully acknowledges our Indigenous heritage and recognises the ongoing Aboriginal traditional custodianship of the land which forms our local government area.

1. Apologies

There were no apologies.

2. Declarations of Pecuniary and Non-Pecuniary Interests

The Chair called for declarations of interest and none were received.

3. Addresses by Members of the Public

There were no addresses by members of the public.

4. Confirmation of Minutes

PD/4.1/23.07 Confirmation of Minutes - Strategic Planning and Development Committee Meeting - 6 June 2023 (SF23/18)

MOTION / UNANIMOUS DECISION Mover: Cr Lewis
Seconder: Cr Gray

That the minutes of the Strategic Planning and Development Committee meeting held on 6 June 2023 be received and noted, and that such minutes be confirmed as a true record of the proceedings of that meeting.

5. Reports

PD/5.1/23.07 5 Tamarama Street, Tamarama - Rezoning (PP-4/2022)

MOTION Mover: Cr Murray
Seconder: Cr Fabiano

That Council:

1. Approves the following amendments to the *Waverley Local Environmental Plan 2012* in respect of 5 Tamarama Street, Tamarama, known as Lot 1 in DP 1188291:

- (a) Amend the land use zone from R3 Medium Density Residential to R2 Low Density Residential.
- (b) Amend the floor space ratio from 0.6:1 to 0.5:1.
- (c) Amend the maximum building height from 9.5 m to 8.5 m.
- 2. Requests the Department of Planning and Environment to finalise the amendments.

AT THIS STAGE IN THE PROCEEDINGS, A PROCEDURAL MOTION, MOVED BY CR MASSELOS AND SECONDED BY CR KAY, TO LAY THE ITEM ON THE TABLE TO ALLOW OFFICERS TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE RESOLUTIONS IN A PROPOSED AMENDMENT WERE RELEVANT TO THE MOTION, WAS PUT AND DECLARED CARRIED.

LATER IN THE MEETING, A PROCEDURAL MOTION TO TAKE THE ITEM FROM THE TABLE, MOVED BY CR WY KANAK AND SECONDED BY CR MASSELOS, WAS PUT AND DECLARED CARRIED.

THE MOVER OF THE MOTION THEN ACCEPTED THE ADDITION OF A NEW CLAUSE 3.

THE MOTION AS AMENDED WAS THEN PUT AND DECLARED CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

UNANIMOUS DECISION

That Council:

- 1. Approves the following amendments to the *Waverley Local Environmental Plan 2012* in respect of 5 Tamarama Street, Tamarama, known as Lot 1 in DP 1188291:
 - (a) Amend the land use zone from R3 Medium Density Residential to R2 Low Density Residential.
 - (b) Amend the floor space ratio from 0.6:1 to 0.5:1.
 - (c) Amend the maximum building height from 9.5 m to 8.5 m.
- 2. Requests the Department of Planning and Environment to finalise the amendments.
- 3. Notes Council resolutions CM/8.3/22.02 and PD/5.5/22.04 on this matter.

Division

For the Motion: Crs Betts, Burrill, Fabiano, Goltsman, Gray, Kay, Keenan, Lewis, Masselos, Murray,

Nemesh and Wy Kanak.

Against the Motion: Nil.